EVOTE2014 took place from 28 to 31 October 2014 in Castle Hofen in Lochau/Bregenz, Austria.

You can find the conference proceedings here.

The 6th international conference on electronic voting brings together experts from academia, administration, government as well as business to discuss latest trends and developments at Castle Hofen. The conference is known for its interdisciplinary and open dialogue between all stakeholders of e-voting.

The EVOTE2014 conference theme is: Verifying the Vote!

[box title=”Conference Registration” centered_title=”false” with_bg=”false”]The conference was fully booked for the second time in a row. [/box]

[hr size=’big’]

[box title=”EVOTE 2014 Programme” centered_title=”false” with_bg=”false”] There was a pre-conference programme on 28 October that consists of a workshop (half day, afternoon) on e-voting by Scytl (to be confirmed), a PhD Colloquium (full day) and the Review Meeting of the E-Voting Recommendation (2004)11 of the Council of Europe (full day, separate invitation needed).  Please find the preliminary programme here (with updates to come).[/box]

[box title=”PhD Colloquium” centered_title=”false” with_bg=”false”]This PhD colloquium continued the tradition of PhD workshops on e-voting that started in 2006 and took place in various locations in Germany, Austria, Switzerland and Luxembourg . As this time it is part of the well-established EVOTE conference taking place in the renaissance castle Hofen in Bregenz in Vorarlberg, the western-most part of Austria, it is explicitly internationally oriented, and knowledge of German is therefore not necessary. Submissions to the colloquium were possible until 5 September 2014. More info here.[/box]

[box title=”Registration” centered_title=”false” with_bg=”false”] The conference registration started on 4 August 2014. As the number of participants is limited to 100 to ensure good networking (and as this is the seating capacity of the conference) a first come, first serve principle is in force. Currently all available spots are reserved but in case one comes available, we accept your stand-by registration by e-mail to office@e-voting.cc.

[span text_size=”small”]The conference fee is €460 (incl. VAT). The conference fee covers the EVOTE2014 participation, one copy of the proceedings, the welcome reception, the reception in Bregenz, coffee and drinks (excl. spirits), the conference dinner and all lunch meals during the conference. Travel and accommodation costs have to be covered by the participants themselves.[/span]

[span text_size=”small”]In the case of cancellation until 1 October 2014, 50% of the conference fee will be refunded, after 2 October 2014 nothing will be refunded. In any case, the conference proceedings will be delivered by post after the conference.[/span] [/box]

[box title=”Hotels” centered_title=”false” with_bg=”false”] Our hotel accommodation partner, Tourism Board Vorarlberg  Convention.CC provides you with a booking platform to book your room. Please go to  http://web.deskline.net/bodenseecpevote/en/search_accommodation. Please select ‘breakfast’ under meals unless you wish otherwise.[/box]

[box title=”Conference Location Schloss Hofen” centered_title=”false” with_bg=”false”]

Schloss Hofen (Castle Hofen)
Center for Science and Continuing Education
Hoferstraße 26, A-6911 Lochau/Bregenz
Phone: +43 5574 4930-0 Fax: -22
info@schlosshofen.at / www.schlosshofen.at

[one_half last]

Größere Kartenansicht




[box title=”How to get there?” centered_title=”false” with_bg=”false”]

By car


From Austria or Switzerland
Highway A14 through the “Pfändertunnel” and exit at Lochau-Hörbranz
Take a left into Lochau
After 700m turn left at the OMV gas station
After 550m arrival at Schloss Hofen


[one_half last]

From Germany
Highway E43/A96 until exit Hörbranz-Zollhaus
Take a left into Lochau
After 700m turn left at the OMV gas station
After 550m arrival at Schloss Hofen



By train or public transportation

Take the train to Bregenz and then please take a taxi to Castle Hofen.
We do not recommend to go directly to Lochau by bus or train as there are no taxis available.


By plane

The nearest airports are Altenrhein (ACH) und Friedrichshafen (FDH) as well as a bit further away Zürich (ZRH, most popular amongst past EVOTE participants) and Munich (MUC). Further details can also be found here.



[box title=”Submission of academic papers” centered_title=”false” with_bg=”false”]

The submission of academic papers for EVOTE2014 and the review process are finished. The authors are currently working on the camera-ready version of their papers and we will be able to present a preliminary programme in September.

For more information on the selection process please see the call for papers here.


[box title=”Conference Chairs” centered_title=”false” with_bg=”false”]Krimmer, Robert (Estonia)

Volkamer, Melanie (Germany)[/box]

[box title=”International Programme Committee” centered_title=”false” with_bg=”false”]Alvarez, Michael (USA)
[one_half]Araujo, Roberto (Brazil)
Bannister, Frank (Ireland)
Barrat, Jordi (Spain)
Benaloh, Josh (USA)
Besselar, Peter van den (Netherlands)
Beznosov, Konstantin (Canada)
Bismark, David (Sweden)
Bock Segaard, Signe (Norway)
Braun Binder, Nadja (Germany)
Buchsbaum, Thomas (Ministry for European and International Affairs, Austria)
Bull, Christian (Norway)
Caarls, Susanne (Netherlands)
DeGregorio, Paul (USA)
Dittakavi, Chakrapani (India)
Drechsler, Wolfgang (Estonia)
Dubuis, Eric (Switzerland)
Gibson, Paul (France)
Gjosteen, Kristian (NTNU Trondheim, Norway)
Grechenig, Thomas (Austria)
Grimm, Ruediger (Germany)
Gronke, Paul (USA)
Haenni, Rolf (Switzerland)
Hall, Joe Lorenzo (USA)
Hall, Thad (USA)
Imamura, Catsumi (Brazil)
[one_half last]
Kalvet, Tarmo (Estonia)
Kersting, Norbert (Germany)
Kim, Shin Dong (South Korea)
Kuesters, Ralf (University of Trier, Germany)
Koenig, Reto (Switzerland)
Nurmi, Hanno (Finland)
Prandini, Marco (Italy)
Pereira, Oliver (Belgium)
Pomares, Julia (Argentina)
Reniu, Josep Maria (Spain)
Rios, David (Spain)
Ruggeri, Fabrizio (CNR IMATI, Italy)
Ryan, Mark (United Kingdom)
Ryan, Peter Y A (Luxembourg)
Schneider, Steve (United Kingdom)
Schuermann, Carsten (Denmark)
Schoenmakers, Berry (Netherlands)
Serduelt, Uwe (Switzerland)
Stein, Robert (Austria)
Teague, Vanessa (Australia)
Tokaji, Dan (USA)
Trechsel, Alexander (Italy)
Wenda, Gregor (Austria)
Wikström, Douglas (Sweden)
Zagorski, Filip (Poland)
Zissis, Dimitris (Greece)[/one_half][/box]

[box title=”PhD Colloquium Chairs” centered_title=”false” with_bg=”false”]Koenig, Reto (Switzerland)
Barrat, Jordi (Spain)[/box]

[box title=”Organizers” centered_title=”false” with_bg=”false”]

Jointly organized by

  • Tallinn University of Technology, Ragnar Nurkse School of Innovation and Governance
  • Technical University Darmstadt, CASED
  • Gesellschaft für Informatik Working Group E-Commerce and E-Government
  • IEEE Region 8
  • E-Voting.CC GmbH Competence Center for Electronic Voting and Participation[/box]

[box title=”Support” centered_title=”false” with_bg=”false”]

EVOTE2014 is supported by

  • Federal Ministry of the Interior, Austria[/box]

[box title=”Sponsor” centered_title=”false” with_bg=”false”]

Platinum Sponsor of EVOTE2014 is Scytl, SA.

[box title=”General Enquiries” centered_title=”false” with_bg=”false”]

EVOTE2014 Conference Secretariat

Mrs. Gisela Traxler

Visit also our Facebook page[/box]

Information about past conferences can be found here.